Quick Links

Quick Links


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum is organised into seven areas of learning which are divided into prime and specific areas.

Prime Areas:

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Communication and Language

Physical Development


Specific Areas:



Understanding the World

Expressive Arts and Design


Our children learn in a range of different ways during their time in Foundation Stage, and are encouraged to develop the different characteristics of learning through adult-directed tasks, as well as child-initiated discovery learning. The children have access to the three different classrooms and a well-equipped outside learning space, where they grow in confidence and independence, supported by the Foundation Stage team, during their first year in school. We teach the different areas of the curriculum through a topic-based cross-curricular approach, beginning with what the children already know and helping them to grow from their own starting points.


In EYFS we have three classes:

Apple Class – Miss McDonald (Year Leader)
Pear Class – Mrs Soanes/Ms Bartolo
Plum Class – Mrs Warwick/Mrs Holmes


Please see the documents below for further detail about the Foundation Stage curriculum:

Curriculum Plan Foundation Stage Autumn Term

Curriculum Plan Foundation Stage Spring Term

Curriculum Plan Foundation Stage Summer Term


The photographs below show some of the exciting things that we have been doing in Foundation Stage.





If you have any queries or concerns, please speak to your child’s class teacher/s in the first instance. The Year Leader would also be happy to discuss any concerns with you. Please make an appointment via the school office.